55 years in existence & still improving by the season !

senect ne tus et alesu

Here is a full Interleague record dating back 38 years ! (Many thanks to Dave Ingram for supplying much of this information from his Sussex website).  * FOR CURRENT SEASON'S WRITEUPS, SEE NEWS PAGE *

41) Mid Sussex Home/Away Interleague Record 1974-2000.   

42) Mid Sussex Home/Away Interleague Record 2000-2018 (This season's fixtures HERE )

43) Mid Sussex One-Day Interleague Record 1990-1999.  

44) Mid Sussex One-Day Interleague Record 2000-2018.(Link to last season HERE and HERE.)  

45) Mid Sussex Ladies Sussex County Interleague Record 1972-1990

46) Mid Sussex Ladies Sussex County Interleague Record 1991-2018 (Link to last season HERE.)    

Early mentions of Interleague extracted from West Sussex County Times (- an even earlier mention, showing the 1967 team is given below !)

(Jan 04, 1972) “In the county interleague competition, Crawley have won both their games, Horsham and Mid Sussex have both lost one and Portslade two.”

(Nov 11, 1972) “Horsham play Mid Sussex A at the Gardeners Arms, Ardingly on November 23 (1972) – at the same time the B teams will meet at the Rose and Crown, Cuckfield.”

Mid Sussex enjoyed two glory days in the last century - one in each of the last two decades: Perhaps their finest hour came in 1985/86 when they made the A team section Final, beating Hastings A 7-0, Worthing A 5-2 and Billingshurst A 4-3 at Horsham Royal British Legion Club on 16th February 1986.

In the Final, played a month later at a separate venue, the Sunallon Club, Mid Sussex A found Littlehampton A (who had come through in their group against Horsham A, West-Sussex A and Crawley A) just too experienced, going down 2-5 after a hard battle.

Mid-Sussex’s team in the competition was Gerry Smith and Mick Roberts (Green Man, Horsted Keynes), Chris Ellmers and Terry Ridge (Liverpool, H/Heath), Clive Thompson (Victory B, Staplefield), Dave Spicer (Potters Arms, Burgess Hill) and Roger Gardner (Cowdray Arms, Balcombe).

Gerry Smith

The team’s success was largely down to Gerry Smith’s inspired captaincy, and some superb form from Terry Ridge who won all his games with an average of 7296.7.

Then in an all-play-all round robin competition for 'A' teams, played at Alfold Sports Council Social Club on Sunday 17th March 1991, Mid Sussex, with a team consisting of Gerry Smith, Mick Roberts, Chris Ellmers, Andy Farmer-Wright, Phil Knape, Graham Lewis and Shaun Morris, achieved a creditable Runners-up, losing the opener 3-4 to eventual winners Horsham, and beating Hastings 5-2 and Billingshurst 4-3. A 3-4 reversal against Brighton was made up for by a surprise 5-2 victory over Worthing to leave the final placings thus: 1 – Horsham (F 18 A 17) 8pts; 2 – Mid Sussex (F 20 A15) 6pts; 3 - Brighton (F 19 A 16) 6pts; 4 – Worthing (F19 A16) 6pts; 5 – Billingshurst (F16 A 19) 2pts; 6 – Hastings (F13 A 22) 2pts.

The new Millennium has heralded a gradual rise in status for Mid Sussex on the Interleague stage in both versions of the competition – the Home/Away and the 1-Day playoff:

Whilst the newly-formed B team (previously Horsham B) won Division 3 in 2004/05 and have since been runners-up twice (in 2007/8 and 2008/9), the A’s won in 2007/8 and followed this up three years later in 2010/11, ably captained by Lorraine Hall, by winning Division 2 in record style: 10 out of 10 wins and finishing on 20pts – a whole 10pts ahead of the rest of the field. A first year at the top table proved to be a baptism of fire, but the A’s bounced back from relegation to win Div.2 again in 2012/13, securing the title at the Hurstpierpoint Club in the very last match by beating contenders Horsham 5-2. They now found themselves once again up amongst the big boys ! One season of consolidation passed successfully, but 2014/15 saw them finish last again. But in 2015/16 it was back to business as normal, with Mid Sussex A winning the second division once again, allowing them another crack at the big boys !

In the One Day competition, Div.2, Mid Sussex have been runners-up (2001), winners (2006), runners-up (2010), and winners again in 2012 (with a team of Lorraine Hall, Derek Taylor, Bob Hall, Andy Farmer-Wright, Richard Jeffrey, Darren Newnham and Terry Gasson).

2013 saw them establish a foothold in Div.1, as they finished a creditable fourth behind perennial performers Worthing A, Brighton A and Redhill A – but ahead of Tunbridge Wells and (relegated) Littlehampton, however sadly this was not to last as the trapdoor opened once more in 2014, with Hastings just clinging on at Mid Sussex's expense. A disappointing 2015 in which they finished third was compensated for in February 2016 with another excellent performance in which they topped Div.Two once more, with Bob Hall achieving a perfect 8/8.

The mighty A's managed an extra year at the top table despite an unprecedented two teams (Redhill and Hastings) being relegated, but the inevitable happened in 2018. The Ladies however covered themselves in glory, achieving runners-up behind Redhill but ahead of Brighton and West-Sussex with the team Ros Appleby, Jan Bithell, Lorraine Hall, Jenny Edwards and loanee Zoe Stoner. It is the first time in 25 years that Mid Sussex have finished above Brighton. – Clive Thompson 25/2/2018